Wowee!!!

Hyperfocusis amazing!    Hyperfocus

Yesterday, I worked on the newsletter for the local chapter of CHADD.  And actually finished it…photos included!  I’m so impressed with myself LOL

Of course, working for an organization that deals with ADDers you expect to have all projects come about and completed at the last minute…after all, most of us have no clue how to plan, organize and time is mystery to us all:)

Brainscan of brains with and without ADHD

Image via Wikipedia

Plus, everyone volunteering has a million other things to do, as most are all overbooked with the thousand and one things they want to do.

 

 

 

 

 

Whew!          Whew!

Last night, my eyes were burning up, raging fire, out of control fire as though I had washed my eyes with lava!            This image was selected as a picture of the we...

And today, they are watering constantly, having trouble keeping my focus on any one thing, and my eyes still burn a bit.    Cataract in Human Eye

But all is good, for I feel…satisfied.  Image representing Get Satisfaction as depicte...

BTW if you are in the Calgary, AB area in the beginning of March there is a ADHD Conference 8:30AM-4PM at the University.  Check it out…would love to meet:)  Hope to see you there.

 

3 responses

  1. Ya’ know, if it weren’t for hyperfocus, I don’t think I’d ever get ANYTHING done.

    I taught myself to use it intentionally shortly after my dx (over 20 years ago), because I am soooooo distractible life had become one long Easter Egg hunt., NOW, if I can make myself start (or the task is habitual), I’m pretty good to go – on THAT task anyway.

    I do have to watch to make sure I don’t do what I term, metaphorically, “playing with fonts” somewhere on the backside of the task, giving myself the mental equavalent of “Madelyn, move ON, Times New Roman and Ariel are perfectly fine and you know what will happen if you start entertaining other options at THIS point.”

    And I know YOU know how I know what happens if I start entertaining those other options. (Another hyperfocus hangover and another six bottles of eyewash!)

    Because I am such a brilliant ADDer, it **only** took me twenty years to teach myself that “move ON” trick. (Well, 20 years to pay attention to myself when I invoke it, anyway – I do seem to have ODD rising) It IS one area where I have to invoke black and white thinking or I’m doomed to trying different options until my eyes give out totally.

    The neurotypicals just don’t get it, do they? I’ll bet THEY never thought about buying stock in eyewash to amortize their day-after-hyperfocus grainy eye needs.

    Congrats on the newsletter – it looks GREAT.

    Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, SCAC, MCC – (blogging at ADDandSoMuchMore and on ADDerWorld – dot com!)
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    1. Yes, it’s making myself start that is the biggest challenge.
      I know distractability is what makes my life so incredibly interesting and amusing however the downside is I’m distracted quickly and easily regardless of how much I want to start a new project.
      I have found that if the consequences are very meaningful to me it is easier to begin a new project. If not, the intention to start will languish a very long time until it becomes an obsessive thought, which also propels me into action:)
      That long Easter Egg hunt is such a pain! And so frustrating…often makes me angry with myself.
      Deep breathing. And sometimes, if it makes me angry enough, I’ll remember to put the object back where it belongs LOL

    2. *Thank you. I forgot to say thank you:) about the newsletter. *

Leave a Reply

