My Favorite Music

Music (232/365)

Music…I love and adore music SO VERY MUCH! Like a teenager, I will listen to a new downloaded fav tune of the moment over and over and over again, until I know every word and nuance of the song.

I have my Playlists on my iPod divided into decades, starting with the title 50’s + earlier, 60’s, 70’s etc. all the way to 2000-2010 and the single year of 2011 and 2012 (these 2 years will eventually be combined into the playlist of 2011-2020).

All the music I feel have withstood the test of time. Meaning they do not annoy me when I hear them. Some tunes that I remember loving now get on my last nerve. I do not have those songs on my iPod. Also, there are some tunes that I did not enjoy way back in the day but now I do like they enough to have them on my iPod.

Go figure.

I have everything from classic R&B, classic rock, blues, boogie & southern rock, folk rock, alternative pop, and a even a little bit of country rock. Sinatra to Eminem. I even have songs downloaded from Glee that were covered on the show. I also have songs from my favourite contestents of American & Canadian Idol, America’s Got Talent, The Voice and Cover Me Canada. I’ve got my brothers songs on my iPod as well. Not that I listen to them (cause they are folky/country/something something, my least favourite tunes). But they are my brothers, I love them and support them any way I can.

Blatantly missing from my iPod is opera and classical, as well as show tunes.

I enjoy musicals, like Cats, Hair, Jesus Christ Superstar, you know, stuff like that. But no songs have ever spoken to me enough to make it onto my iPod.

I’m not a classical music buff, nor have I ever pretended to be. Not that I don’t like some of this moving, profound music (hubby pretty much only likes this type of music), but there are no words to any of these songs, and that leaves me with nothing to do but listen to the melodies. No can do. I have to be able to sing along. It’s a MUST. I like words. Words are my obsession.

And then there is opera. I like Pavorati, Bochelli and those Tenor guys, but I cannot listen to any of the soprano voices. Those voices cause me severe physical pain. I’m not kidding. I’m not exaggerating either. I literally get instant pain in my head from the first note they hit. It runs down my spine as well. After 2 minutes, a blinding headache takes over. Must block the sound. Leave the room. Run for the hills. Smash the record/disc/machine that’s playing the sound. AAARRRGGG!!!! MAKE IT STOP!

Oh well. That’s OK. There are no opera buffs in my house. Although I do have an older brother that’s a big fan. He’s kind enough not to play any during the few times I’ve been to his home. Good man that way to spare me so much pain.

So. There is no type of music that I listen to the most. There are just a few types that I do not listen to at all. Opera. Oh, and that painful, annoying Techno. I have not been able to develop a taste for that at all. Not as painful as Opera but damn close.

Powered by Plinky

One response

  1. great post! Keep up the excellent work!

Leave a Reply

