On Sarcasm

Vampires

As a frequent user of sarcasm you'd think I would say I love it but…I don't.

As the brunt of many sarcastic comments, I'd have to say "leave it".

I won't say either.

Sarcasm is a passive-aggressive way to express hostility without fear of reprisal, confrontation or explanation.

It is unfair to the victim of your sarcastic wit. It can even make those around you uncomfortable, because the hostility is hardly disguised.

And yes, it has been my weapon of choice in the past. Many times. Used against many unsuspecting people. And, it has made me laugh many, many times.

But I have always felt that residual bitterness linger afterwards. Not pleasant. Very unfair. And certainly not BRAVE.

My newest mantra…if you have something to say…say it clearly! Do not disguise it. If you can't be clear, SHUT THE HELL UP!!!

Sarcasm is a hard habit to break. I've bitten my tongue so many times I now enjoy the taste of blood.

Powered by Plinky

4 responses

  1. Hi there, I read your blogs daily. Your writing style is
    witty, keep up the good work!

  2. […] On Sarcasm (addpositively.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Its fantastic as your other posts : D, thanks for posting . “As experience widens, one begins to see how much upon a level all human things are.” by Joseph Farrell.

  4. […] On Sarcasm (addpositively.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

