No stimulants = sleep

Yesterday was my first day without taking a stimulant, which was Dexedrine.  What a difference!!!

Dexedrine

Dexedrine (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I had just enough time to get home after 4 hours of work, before I crashed.  Fell onto the couch with my little Boo and we slept for 3 hours!

Then, last night, I went to bed at 10pm, forcing myself to stay up that long.

7 hours later, I’m up.

Sleep Tight (film)

Sleep Tight (film) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

7 hours people!

7 long beautiful hours of deep peaceful restful sleep:)

And I have a large, hot, delicious coffee by my hand this morning, savouring every drop:)

Happiness is freshly ground, dark roasted coffee beans, brewed to perfection with a splash of cream…hmmm mmm mmm.

Afrikaans: Geroosterde pitte van die koffiepla...

Afrikaans: Geroosterde pitte van die koffieplant. English: Roasted coffee beans Español: Granos de café tostado (natural). Bahasa Indonesia: Biji kopi alami yang telah disangrai. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Heaven.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If Strattera takes away any of the above I will not take anything else.

Medicine "Strattera" (eg. used to tr...

Medicine "Strattera" (eg. used to treat ADD/ADHD) Svenska: Läkemedlet "Strattera" (som bl.a. används mot besvär av ADD/ADHD) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I lived decades without drug treatment for my ADHD, and I can continue to do so in the future, only better.

Why better?

Because I am more mature (smirk) now, well-informed and well aware.

Taking medication to treat ADHD only makes me aware of all my quirks which annoy me because I tend to try to fix them.  Prevented sleep.  Made eating all but impossible!  I frustrate myself needlessly by trying to be “normal”.  I tried to be normal because it was annoying to constantly lose stuff, forget stuff and mess up all the time.  Annoying myself all the livelong day made me angry.  Angry made me less tolerant of others.  Especially the doctor platitude, with his endless questions about why I was feeling all that anger.  He made me anxious with his attitude because I would go away feeling as though I wasn’t trying hard enough.

Skinny, skinny Boos

I will give these medications a fighting chance to “work” as they say in the medical field.  Strattera takes about 2 weeks to kick in but once they do the effects are supposed to last 24 hours a day, not wear off but provide a continuous supply of norepinephrine, in a sense (actually, it just provides stimulation to that part of the brain) which allows better concentration.

We will see.  The side effects are like all the rest, disrupted sleep, appetite suppressed, etc.  I refuse to live with that kind of disruption to my natural self.

I often think that the acceptance of disrupted sleep is contra intuitive to the end results.  Without sleep, everything deteriorates drastically, including the ability to think straight.

Seems to me, anything that prevents the body’s ability to repair and restore itself cannot be as effective as they would have everyone believe.

What do you think?

Cougar sleep

Cougar sleep (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Is sleep the answer?

Leave a Reply

