Killer day + Killing Time

I should be an expert at killing time but apparently I am not.  For 3 weeks now I have been trying to keep myself occupied in some way to make the time go by faster but have not succeeded, as each 4 hour day feels like 4 years!!!

Natural Born Killers

Natural Born Killers (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

First, this morning, my 2 bosses decided they would finally help me kill time by giving me a name and a case number, bringing me to a row of file cabinets and saying Find this file that we (CRA) have misplaced.

File cabinets in the Reykjavík Municipality Ar...

File cabinets in the Reykjavík Municipality Archives. Picture taken in June 2011. Íslenska : Skjalaskápar í Borgarskjalasafni Reykjavíkur. Frá júní 2011. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Nada.  Not found.  4 hours going through file by file, each piece of paper looked at in every file.  Silly people.  There are no words to express how silly I find them.  When they asked me if I was frustrated I told them that I had nothing invested in the file, and I didn’t lose the file, so I am not frustrated.  If I had been the one to lose the file it would have been a completely different scenario, with frustration mounting to all time highs and me a total mess, completely freaked at not finding it.

Anyway, I still am not able to access any of the work computer systems and security still has not gotten me cleared to get into the systems, so I am very limited as to what I can actually do.

A candidate icon for Portal:Computer security

A candidate icon for Portal:Computer security (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So far, in the 3 weeks I have been back to work, I have been left to my own devices to fill my time constructively.

I took a few online classes to review some of the systems I will be working with that I have mostly forgotten.

I took an additional online course on how to use Windows 7 to manage my work email.

Windows 7 build 7600

Windows 7 build 7600 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I took another course on how to effectively use the payroll/time reporting system so that my time sheets would be correct and not cause any problems.  Unfortunately, the people further down the line have not bothered to take this course, because someone screwed up on my first pay and apparently my immediate manager screwed up with the 2nd pay to come.  That’s just great.  More crap for me to look forward to, as the repercussions will be all mine to fix as usual.

I wrote a few blog ideas, expanded a couple of them.

I wrote new words to an old song, Indian Reservation by Paul Revere and the Raiders, using my own tribes name and traditions instead.

The Spirit of '67 (Paul Revere & the Raiders a...

The Spirit of '67 (Paul Revere & the Raiders album) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have gone to the bathroom 556 times…ok, maybe less, but not much less.

I have ridden the elevator, just for fun.

I have taken the stairs down 6 floors, just to pass the time.

I found a few fashion magazines in the kitchens and looked at those.

I take a 30 minute coffee break instead of 15 minutes.  I go to Starbucks and have a cigarette outside.

Redesigned logo used from 2011-present.

Redesigned logo used from 2011-present. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I whine about being bored and having nothing to do to anyone that will listen.  I get no sympathy because apparently everyone envies me my free time.

Do they not realize that every 4 hour day spent like this feels like 4 years to me?

Can they not see how desperate I am to have something to occupy my time before I go bonkers?!

Bonkers (song)

Bonkers (song) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

One response

  1. Since I think I enjoy research I might actually find going through files quite fun. I also would find it quite hard to fill the time although it would give me plenty of time to work on the writing of my stories of which I would probably get distracted being in a work environment. I can totally understand the lack of empathy and envy of the other employee’s who don’t understand your/our situation.

Leave a Reply

