American Idol review

I love Philip Philips.  He’s reminds me of Joe Cocker…way back in the day.  Not that he sounds a lot like Joe, but just that soul vibe coming from him is enough. Crazy soulfulness for a white guy (joke people…not to be taken literally nor do I want to hear about any prejudice/racial indignation, OK?)

Philips

Philips (Photo credit: chuwasg)

And I must give giant kudos to Joshua Ledet…OMG! he is so awesome (almost makes me want to go to church)…kidding.  But WOW, can this young man sing!  Inspiring enough to feel my eyes get a little humid with some of that emotion he pours into every song.  Impressive.  And…he absolutely reminds me a little bit of Fantasia when she was on American Idol.

Revival (Reverend Horton Heat album)

Revival (Reverend Horton Heat album) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Elise Testone was super sexy sounding last night and she looked fabulous!  Now this young woman can sing…very reminiscent of Janis Joplin…my all time favourite female singer:)  She is having a rough time of it, making the judges come up with all sorts of helpful tips for her about opening her heart blah blah blah.  They didn’t like that sexy number she did, expect for Steven Tyler of course.  But like he said, every horny guy out there sure did:)

janis joplin

janis joplin (Photo credit: Fire_Eyes)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Those 2 young girls, Holly Cavanaugh and Jessica Sanchez , have fabulous voices and amazing control, but I don’t think they really get what being an artist is all about.  While technically spot on and dizzily amazing with their voices, they lack depth.  I remain quite unmoved by their performances week after week, and I for one will not be sad to see them go.  Even Jessica’s attempts at soulfulness were coming across as somewhat contrived instead of heartfelt.  They are just NOT READY.

List of MuchMusic Video Award winners for Best...

List of MuchMusic Video Award winners for Best International Group Video (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Colton Dixon is…well…I’m not sure how his appeal compares across the generations.  On the one hand, he is hip, mod and very today…a little avant-garde but not that original.  I can totally see why the young girls are swooning over him.  Maybe even some of the older ones too:)  On the other hand, I don’t see him appealing to a broad range of the public.  He is talented…I applaud that.  Still, I always feel just a little “cheated” when he is done with his performance, like I was waiting for that big moment and not getting it.  Oh well, I think he’ll be around for quite some time still so maybe it’ll happen soon.

Gone, Just Like a Train

Gone, Just Like a Train (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And Last but certainly not Least, Skylar Laine.  I am not a country music fan, not now, not in the past and probably never will be.  But…come on people, this girl can sing, entertain and ROCK IT OUT!  I absolutely enjoy her every performance, hands down, without fail, every single time!  Every time she finishes her song I am totally smiling.  I love her.  She also reminds me of Reba McIntyre for some reason.  Maybe it’s that southern drawl.  Or maybe it’s just all the pure pleasure for what she is doing that seeps across the TVand infects us all.

Rock and Roll

Rock and Roll (Photo credit: waɪ.tiː)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Damn…she just might win.

Who doesn’t like feelin’ good?

What's So Bad About Feeling Good?

What's So Bad About Feeling Good? (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Leave a Reply

