Organization Problems: ADD/ADHD? Or Learning Disability? | ADDitude – Attention Deficit Disorder Experts

Inattentive ADHD in a Nutshell yes those are my comments about myself in bold italics:)

Often fails to give close attention to details, or makes careless mistakes in school or at work…yup that’s me!

Often has difficulty sustaining attention in tasks or play activities…more like all the time!

Often does not seem to listen when spoken to directly…what?

Often does not follow through on instructions and fails to finish school work or chores…how about wanders off in the middle of doing something:)

Often has difficulty organizing tasks and activities…what does organizing look like?

Often avoids, dislikes, or is reluctant to engage in tasks that require sustained mental effort (homework or filing paperwork)…what’s the point, I cannot sustain the effort long enough to complete anything!

Often loses things necessary for tasks or activities…I just had that pen in my hand, where did it go off to?

Often easily distracted by extraneous stimuli…did you hear that?did you see that?what was that?ooooh…shiny:)

Often forgetful in daily activities…do I usually wash my hair first or my face?  Geez…now I need a waterproof list on how to shower!

via Organization Problems: ADD/ADHD? Or Learning Disability? | ADDitude – Attention Deficit Disorder Experts.

2 responses

  1. You got it sista friend! Going to work with my hair half done, oftentimes not even combed, wondering why my hair feels so funny after I wash it and find it’s still full of conditioner, forgetting to wash my face! yet I too can spend hours upon hours on a project that I am fascinated with also forgetting to use the washroom and eat:) I have no idea where all the pens go, and the lighters and the elastics for my hair etc. People think it’s a pain when a sock goes missing…imagine what they would do with US in the house LOL

  2. I do not know what organization looks like, nothing gets filed, I have 600 pens in each drawer to avoid looking for the one I just had, I often get out of the shower with conditioner still in my hair and I love deadlines that actually force me to finish things. On the other hand, I can obsessively hyperfocus at times, tune out the entire world while playing a video game or working on a project for 12 hours straight, no breaks no eating.

Leave a Reply

