IQ vs EQ

So which one is the most important, your IQ or your EQ?

Here’s what I know for sure.

Français : Logo de Connecting Emotional Intell...

Français : Logo de Connecting Emotional Intelligence (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

If your IQ is high enough, you can fake the EQ…you can even compensate for a low Emotional Intelligencewith a high IQ.  You can be a success without a high IQ, but you cannot succeed with a low EQ.

English: emotions

English: emotions (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The biggest difference between IQ and EQ is:

Your IQ really measures your ability to learn and cannot be changed much.  No one can be taught how to be a genius:)

Your EQ measures your ability to perceive and use the emotions of a situation…and that CAN be changed.

English: Emotions Q-sort

English: Emotions Q-sort (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My test scores for EQ are low…low low low – see a snapshot of my results below

Emotional Identification, Perception, and Expression 

RESULTS:  27

You seem to be lacking in most, if not all of the skills that can help you identify, perceive and express emotions in yourself and others. This can, if it hasn’t already, hinder your ability to read others, to understand how they feel, and to effectively identify your own emotions. Lacking these skills could mean that you are unable to relate to others and may sometimes even question why you yourself behave the way you  do.

That’s right, that’s me in a nutshell.

emotion icon

emotion icon (Photo credit: Łukasz Strachanowski)

The good news…I can change that score.  I have changed that score a little.

Take a look at the link for the website below and let me know what you think.  I would love to know who else struggles with EQ besides myself!:)

The best things in life are free, and below is the link for a site that actually has a comprehensive FREE and helpful online tool that can help.

Tomorrow, I will continue with this theme on a more personal level, with tips and tricks that I have used over the years to fake my way through life LOL

Bring Your Life Into Balance

HELPGUIDE’S FREE STRESS-BUSTING, MOOD-BOOSTING MINDFULNESS TOOLKIT  http://www.helpguide.org/toolkit/emotional_health.htm

4 responses

  1. I think increasing the EQ makes life more….manageable, maybe a bit more normal perhaps? I’m not sure but I think with a little more research to back me up, I will voice my opinion on why it is important to everyone and their happiness…a long steady happiness rather than just a thrilling exciting joy when starting something new. We’ll see:) Ultimately, I think all emotional problems, whether they be eating disorders or depression and anxiety, are experienced only by those with a very low EQ.

    1. I so much look forward to your additional findings! Maybe because I don’t consider eating disorders to be emotional disorders but rather physical lack of control and weakness that I don’t see value in growing my emotional well being. Oh well. Convince me otherwise, Jeg! 😀 And you do know that I say your name as spelt: “JEG.” Like Jig with an E. But I know that JEG stands for your initials, so I hope you do not mind my verbal and thought abbreviation to JEG. 🙂 Mwah! —> says my celebratory 1940s champagne cocktail. 😀

      1. That’s hilarious you say that about my name…I call myself JEG in my mind LOL
        I find that funny you consider ED to be physical rather than emotional…it seems so obvious to me that it is emotional and the physical part is just a by-product LOL too much!

  2. I know for a fact that my IQ is high… and I confidently assume that my EQ is low. But I don’t think that I care to change it. I wonder why this is important to you, but I think that I know. Interesting post.

Leave a Reply

