ADHD and Menopause: What You Need to Know and What You Can Do | Psych Central

 

“Diminishing estrogen levels can actually exacerbate symptoms, and for some women, the decline is sudden and dramatic. Hormonal fluctuations affect our brain’s biochemistry and thereby ADHD symptoms, according to Dr. Patricia Quinn, M.D., a developmental pediatrician and director of theNational Center for Girls and Women with AD/HD.”

click on the link below to read the entire article along with tips on how to deal:)

ADHD and Menopause: What You Need to Know and What You Can Do | Psych Central.

The reason I’m referring to this particular subject this morning is:

Meltdown happened yesterday because I could not open the back door to get outside to have my after supper smoke.

its hard keeping this one on one hand and the ...

its hard keeping this one on one hand and the camera on the other. 🙂 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

One of my favourite things to do when I’m done eating…go out on the deck, sit (well, I don’t actually sit much ’cause I have ADD/ADHD), light up my smoke with hubby and chat for a bit while we have our after supper coffee.

French Press Coffee

French Press Coffee (Photo credit: fritish)

Except yesterday, I turn the door knob and the door doesn’t open.

I turn again, a little more forcefully, and push…nothing.

Instantly start slamming myself against the door.

Photo 64/365 - 6 March: Smashed door, Oxford

Photo 64/365 – 6 March: Smashed door, Oxford (Photo credit: The Spider Hill)

Nothing but a sharp pain in my shoulder for my trouble.

dislocated-shoulder

dislocated-shoulder (Photo credit: garyowen)

All the while ranting and raving about “piece of shit door knob!  take it off and I’ll bring it back to the f@#$ing store!” and a stream of other nasty words better left unrepeated.

Open wide

Open wide (Photo credit: Elsie esq.)

Hubby, with a tight grip on my arms, gently but firmly removes me from front of said piece of shit door and quickly but calmly removes the door knob.

Door Knob Hole

Door Knob Hole (Photo credit: Steve Snodgrass)

I burst out the door to the deck like I’ve been trapped for hours inside.

Exploding Car

Exploding Car (Photo credit: Dave Keeshan)

I’m told it was exactly 4 minutes.

Timer By Two Hundredths

Timer By Two Hundredths (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Whatever.

It felt like days.

World Calendar

World Calendar (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Lit my smoke, paced the deck still ranting about taking the door knob back to the store, with hubby repeatedly telling me we’ve had it 5 years and we no longer have the receipt.

crumpled

crumpled (Photo credit: Scorpions and Centaurs)

Whatever.

While he is talking he is fiddling with the offensive door knob’s inner mechanisms.

English: Image of a the parts of a traditional...

English: Image of a the parts of a traditional door knob. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m done the smoke, go inside because I’m unable to stop the flow of crap coming out of my mouth.

No-profanity

No-profanity (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hubby follows me in, puts the door knob back on and it magically turns and opens the door.

Magic Central

Magic Central (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Huh.  Go figure.

Hubby is a wizard.

English: Wizard with a spell.

English: Wizard with a spell. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

2 responses

  1. Undeniably imagine that which you stated. Your favorite reason seemed to be at the web the simplest thing to consider of. I say to you, I certainly get irked even as people think about concerns that they just do not recognise about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the entire thing with no need side effect , other people could take a signal. Will likely be again to get more. Thank you

Leave a Reply

