ADHD Related Conditions: Depression in ADD Adults | ADDitude – ADHD & LD Adults and Children

“Some adults with ADHD become depressed for no obvious reason—the condition strikes even in the absence of unpleasant life circumstances or events (difficulties at work or in school, job loss, relationship problems, chronic illness, and so on). Risk for this form of depression, known as primary depression, seems to be largely inherited.”

via ADHD Related Conditions: Depression in ADD Adults | ADDitude – ADHD & LD Adults and Children.

Click the link above to read the good news and the bad news:)

My 2 cents worth:

NEVER, EVER let anyone convince you of a “depression diagnosis” when there is NO SADNESS inside you.  

I let a doctor bully me into treating depression with antidepressants when I was sure I was not depressed in the least.  My moods were fleetingly dark caused by setbacks NOT pervasive and chronic. I was somewhat lethargic caused by boredom not depression. My sleep problems changed from unable to get to sleep to unable to stay asleep…the change occurred after menopause.  I was not full of negative thoughts upon waking, just annoyance that I was awake.

The differences are subtle, very, very subtle, and you must listen to your inner voice that tells you NO, it is not depression.  Treat the ADHD, and forget the anti-depressants…make a deal with an insistent doctor that if there is no change with the ADD meds you will revisit the depression diagnosis.

Leave a Reply

