Fibro Tired: A Day in the Life

Feeling tired all the time sucks!


Try to imagine what it’s like to force your feet to move forward…dragging large weights attached to each foot. Then imagine you need to bend over to pick something up…you immediately have sharp, shooting pains up and down your spine. Bend at the knees you say? Only if you have strong support in each side of you to help pull you upright into a standing position. Doing dishes is easy, right? Wrong again! It takes 5 to 10 minutes of standing before you start to tilt forward, resting your body against the edge of the counter for support. While your lower back pulsates with pain, your upper shoulder area, including the neck, feels like it will no longer straighten as all the muscles tense to a hardness no amount of heat relieves. As your eyes begin to roll back into your head and you start to feel light-headed and dizzy, you seriously begin to question how those dishes will ever get washed, dried, and put away.


Doesn’t all that sound like fun?! Simple daily tasks become marathons run by poorly trained athletes.


Since I started taking Lyrica I have been able to get through some simple tasks, like doing the dishes with a rest period afterwards. I can do laundry if I rest while the washer washes and the drier dries. By the time I fold, hang and put away the laundry, I must rest again. Sometimes I can sweep up half the house but I have to be in a super-energetic moment to vacuum the entire downstairs. It takes my entire energy stores to accomplish this feat, then I am depleted for the rest of the day.


Did I mention that I never cook supper? That falls to my daughter-in-law, or hubby. I have nothing give by that time of day. If left to my own devices I would not eat.

After the evening meal I make my way to the bedroom, put on my pj bottoms and a t shirt, sit in my most comfy chair until I’m uncomfortable, then move to the couch where I’m semi-sitting upright. I then wait for 10 PM with anticipation so I can go to bed! I’m up again at 3 AM so I really don’t want to go to bed any earlier. I’d love to go later but my body refuses to stay awake any longer!


The moon and the night sky are my best buddies. I haven’t seen a summer sunset in years but I’ve never missed a sunrise😎

2 responses

  1. Thank you for your support. I truly appreciate it, more than I can say with inadequate words😊

  2. I truly hated clicking “like” on this post, given the subject matter, but I wanted to ring in with some kind of quantifiable support for a heroic effort. I have pinned a couple of your images too – your sense of humor seems to have energy still.

    I wish I had a helpful hint to offer, but I’m sure you’ve already tried anything I might suggest, so I won’t insult you by offering anything supposedly helpful (but prayers are okay, right? I’ll offer a couple of those.)

    Some sufferers go through periodic “remissions” where they suddenly and for no reason feel better for a while. I will pray that you are one of them, and that the fibro-fog clears soon (and for some time). Thank God we are no longer living in the dark ages of “it’s all in your head!” As they say in the theatre, “Courage Camille!”

    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

Leave a Reply

