Fibro Diagnosis Real or False?

At the age of 12-13, I was in a car accident, resulting in a split head requiring 30-40 stitches. I was riding in the back seat, no seat belt, and found on the floor behind the drivers seat. No one died but the car was totalled. Only guesses as to how my head split, since there was nothing for me to have hit it on except the relatively soft back of the drivers seat. Most of those doctors and paramedics figured it was just the crash impact/telephone pole impact landing on the car that magically caused my young skull to split open. I wore a neck collar for about a week and stitches from the from forehead to the back of my head. I have had terrible problems with the neck/shoulders ever since plus headaches  which get progressively worse over the years.

image

As if that weren’t enough, at the age of 18 I was in a car that was rear ended by a city transit bus and ended up in a neck brace for what felt like forever! And I was pregnant.image

Then, at the age of 22, I had DVT (deep vein thrombosis), hospitalized and treated with intravenous anticoagulants. They sent a male nurse to walk me up and down the hallways with my back door open, pulling that pole on wheels the day after they started that treatment. I was there for a week.imageThen they sent me home with oral anticoagulants and instructions to keep my leg elevated and rest.image

I also limped terribly because of the deep pain in the pelvis/hip area, almost numb. When I complained about it they largely ignored me. I ended up getting chiropractic treatments for years, sitting on large garbage bags of ice to endure the pain during treatment. It took 2 years for that to be successful.

 

'George, one of the mares is coming in with a limp.'

Then, at 30, I was diagnosed with untreated Osgood-Schlatters disease (mainly a young male disease or an athletic woman LOL), with a large amount of calcium deposit on my right knee, which made my knee collapsible when walking. I had surgery to have the excess scraped away and removed. I had been told recovery was 4-6 weeks with my leg in a removable cast and physical therapy. One year later the nerve damage to the knee was still causing problems but I could walk. I also had a newborn baby to deal with.image

So, what is the point of all this medical reminiscing? And what could it possibly have to do with fibromyalgia?

Heres what I’m thinking. With all the “minor injuries” sustained in my younger years, and being subjected to less than stellar medical treatment, since it was so long ago, wouldn’t that be the cause of all this stupid pain?

Not that it would change anything for me, since the damage has long been done and cannot be reversed.

image

It just bugs me when given incorrect information, especially medically.

Leave a Reply

