Fibro,ADHD: Bore Myself to Death

Time passes slowly when alone with only myself to amuse me. So, I ordered a cheap guitar on Amazon 17!days ago and have been learning how to play Stand By Me with 4 simple chords and an e-z R & B strumming pattern. 

The tips of my left hand fingers have finally hardened enough to practice longer than 5 minutes😬

I can transition slowly from one chord to the next without consulting the tablature🙄

I wish I could play like Stevie Ray Vaugh…Eric Clapton…any blues player actually😅

I still want to put the cart before the horse even though I am long past the age of unrealistic expectations😊

Oh well, I’ll keep plugging along, because “practice makes perfect” and I’ve got nothing better to do😔

Besides, it’s not like I’ll ever play and sing in front of any real, live human beings😱

One response

  1. My heart goes out to you – I can hear the struggle with what sounds like depression. Learning to play well enough to play in public is a great goal, even if you never actually step in front of a mic. Never say never?

    I tried playing the guitar when I was a teen. Didn’t take to it – my fingers simply didn’t want to “assume the position” quickly enough to make music. As I got a few years older, I decided I wanted my long nails dream more than those of band and coffee houses, especially once my younger sister picked up the guitar and got farther in a week than I did in a month. 🙂

    Besides, by then I was in love with the theatre, and was lucky that it loved me back. I was solidly hooked once I was cast in my first lead after auditioning for a smaller role at a community theatre. My professional acting days were some of the very best in my life!

    I loved the work, but I really loved the community. Fast friends form quickly in that environment. It’s difficult to think about those decades without feeling a profound sense of loss, and I wonder about the road not taken. ADDvocacy front-running has been a lonely path.

    So now that I spend most of my hours alone as well, I write – and reach out to strangers I hope to get to know within the blogging community. We all do what we can to keep on keepin’ on, right?
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

Leave a Reply

