Fibro/ADHD: Nothing good to say, Say nothing at all

That is an old saying meant to promote self-improvement + positivity in your life. You know, when a glass is half-empty type person is being pressured to become a glass is half-full type. Turn that negativity to positivity and you will “snap out of it!”. 

Fuck that.

My most memorable moments in life are, for the most part, negative, traumatic and damn fucked up. There is no positive spin to turn them into “blessings”, no “silver lining” to turn them into great lessons. 

As Popeye loves to say ” I yam what I yam”.

There are wasted lives and wasted people. Even though I have ADD and fibromyalgia, PTSD + anxiety disorder, I still managed to follow my impulses, do what I want when I wanted to do it, move several times across the country on a whim, get a job, have a family and so on and so forth. 

Now, I’m just a plain old worn out, tired and broken-down woman, sitting around on my couch trying to come up with ways to protect my brain from atrophy. I got nothing else to do, no one to see and nothing to contribute in the grand scheme of things.

Try as I might, a positive attitude is not sustainable. It takes all my energy just to get through an ordinary day.

Do I really have to be happy about that?

One response

  1. You share my lack of affection for all the “positivity” folks cramming their ill-timed smiley-faced advice down the throats of people with whom they will NEVER empathize until they land in similar soup. It’s not that what they say is “wrong” — it’s simply that it isn’t right — at least not for the people toward which they are yammering at the time they choose to yammer.

    My opinion, anyway.

    It’s as off-putting and wrong-headed as it would be to tell a Mom at the funeral of a beloved child to be thankful that the child graced her life at all! YEARS too soon!

    Timing is everything. And the “positivity” has to come from within, not without!
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to educate a world!”

Leave a Reply

